Texas Tech Men's and Women's Tennis earn all Big 12 Honors

Texas Tech Men's and Women's Tennis earn all Big 12 Honors

Todd Petty Todd Petty

IRVING, Texas – The Texas Tech Women's Tennis team claimed two specialty awards, three singles and two doubles All-Big 12 selections, league officials announced Thursday afternoon.
"I am very proud of these young ladies. All of these awards, in our opinion, are team awards," Petty said. "It's a credit to everyone connected to our program and the hard ward they have put in all year."

Junior Gabriela Talaba added to her name to the record book once again as she became the first Texas Tech player in school history to be named the Big 12 Player of the Year. Talaba was also selected to the All-Big 12 First Team, marking her third straight overall and second first team selection. She and teammate Felicity Maltby were awarded a spot on the All-Big 12 First Team in doubles as well.
Talaba posted an impressive 22-6 record during the 2017 season including a 7-1 record during conference play. She broke the school record for most dual match wins at the No. 1 position with 20 wins. She defeated the highest ranked opponent in school history when she clinched a three-set comeback win over No. 4 Blair Shankle of Baylor.
Head Coach Todd Petty was unanimously selected the 2017 Big 12 Coach of the Year for the third time in his career. He has won the second most Coach of the Year awards in the Big 12.
Sophomore Felicity Maltby earned her second career All-Big 12 Second Team selection. She and Talaba also garnered first team selections for their doubles play this season. Maltby posted a 15-9 record this spring including a 4-2 record in the Big 12.
As a duo, Maltby and Talaba posted a 16-5 record in dual matches this semester and went undefeated against nationally ranked opponents.
Junior Sabrina Federici earned her first All-Big 12 Second Team selection. She went 14-1 in dual matches and stayed undefeated at the No. 5 position with a 13-0 record.
Federici and junior Sarah Dvorak earned a spot on the All-Big 12 second team for doubles play after posting a 15-8 record this season. The two went 5-3 against nationally ranked opponents and a 10-6 record in the No. 1 position.
The Lady Raiders are set to host the NCAA First and Second Rounds at the McLeod Tennis Center this weekend. Texas Tech will face Quinnipiac on Friday at 1 p.m. Fans can purchase tickets on-site for $5 (adults) and $3 (youth – 12 and under).
Southern California and Denver will begin the four-team regional with a 10 a.m. first serve on Friday. The two winners will meet on Saturday at 1 p.m. for a chance to advance to the NCAA Round of 16 in Athens, Ga., on Thursday, May 18.
Visit www.TexasTech.com for the latest news and information on the women's tennis program. Fans also can follow the program and live match updates on its social media outlets at www.Facebook.com/TechWomensTennis and @TexasTechTennis on Twitter.
Coach of the Year 
Todd Petty, Texas Tech*
Freshman of the Year
Bianca Turati, Texas, Fr.
Newcomer of the Year
Tess Bernard-Feigenbaum, Kansas, Sr.
Player of the Year
Gabriela Talaba, Texas Tech, Jr.
All-Big 12 Singles First Team
Gabriela Talaba, Texas Tech, Jr.
Blair Shankle, Baylor, Sr.
Viktoriya Lushkova, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Anastasia Rychagova, Kansas, So.
Lily Miyazaki, Oklahoma, Jr.
Katarina Adamovic, Oklahoma State, Sr.
All-Big 12 Singles Second Team
Bianca Turati, Texas, Fr.
Seda Arantekin, TCU, Sr.
Felicity Maltby, Texas Tech, So.
Aliona Bolsova, Oklahoma State, Fr.
Sabrina Federici, Texas Tech, Jr.
Neda Koprcina, Texas, Sr.
All-Big 12 Doubles First Team
Tur Mari, Sr. / Babic, Jr., Oklahoma State
Talaba, Jr. / Maltby, So. Texas Tech 
Shankle, Sr. / Traxler, So., Baylor
All-Big 12 Doubles Second Team
Federici, Jr. / Dvorak, Jr., Texas Tech 
Adamovic, Sr. / Lushkova, Sr., Oklahoma State
Bolsova, Fr. / Blanco, So., Oklahoma State
All-Freshman Team
Aliona Bolsova, Oklahoma State, Fr.
Bianca Turati, Texas, Fr.
Petra Granic, Texas, Fr.
Jessica Hinojosa, Baylor, Fr.
Anna Turati, Texas, Fr.
Lena Ruppert, Oklahoma State Fr.

IRVING, Texas – Jolan Cailleau, Connor Curry and Bjorn Thomson of the Texas Tech men's tennis team captured All-Big 12 First-Team honors announced Thursday by the conference office.
Cailleau secured an All Big 12 First-Team selection in singles whereas Curry and Thomson notched All-Big 12 First-Team accolades in doubles. All three players will represent the Red Raiders at the NCAA Singles and Doubles competition later this month at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex on the University of Georgia campus.
For Cailleau, he has tucked away All-Big 12 singles honors in consecutive seasons. He garnered second-team status last season. Cailleau has climbed to a season's best No. 21 in the ITA singles rankings on the strength of five victories over Top 30 opponents since March 14. He has emerged with wins in eight of his last 11 decisions en route to a 12-10 dual match record.
Curry and Thomson hold a No. 18 ITA doubles ranking and have turned in a 14-6 record. The duo has captured a team-leading five wins over ranked opponents most notably a 6-4 triumph over fellow All-Big 12 First-Team pair Juan Benitez and Will Little of Baylor at the Big 12 Championships. Three of the pair's six losses have come in tiebreakers.
Visit www.TexasTech.com for the latest news and information on the Texas Tech men's tennis program. Fans can also follow the program on its social media outlets at www.facebook.com/Techmenstennis and @TexasTechTennis on Twitter.

2017 Big 12 Men's Tennis Awards 
All-Big 12 First Team – Singles 
Player, School, Class
Jolan Cailleau, Texas Tech, Sr.
Julian Cash, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Cameron Norrie, TCU, Jr.
Spencer Papa, Oklahoma, Jr.
Alex Rybakov, TCU, So.
Alex Ghilea, Oklahoma, Sr.
All-Big 12 Second Team – Singles 
Player, School, Class
Juan Benitez, Baylor, So.
Andrew Harris, Oklahoma, Sr.
Guillermo Nunez, TCU, Jr.
Harrison Scott, Texas, So.
Christian Sigsgaard, Texas, Fr.
Max Tchoutakian, Baylor, Sr.

All-Big 12 First Team – Doubles
Players, School
Julian Cash/Austin Kadhe, Oklahoma State
Connor Curry/Bjorn Thomson, Texas Tech 
Juan Benitez/Will Little, Baylor
All-Big 12 Second Team – Doubles
Players, School
Andrew Harris/Spencer Papa, Oklahoma
Guillermo Nunez/Alex Rybakov, TCU
Cameron Norrie/Trevor Johnson, TCU

Big 12 Specialty Awards 
Coach of the Year: David Roditi, TCU
Player of the Year: Cameron Norrie, TCU
Freshman of the Year: Christian Sigsgaard, Texas
Newcomer of the Year: Artur Dubinski, Oklahoma State

Powered by Frankly