Evans, Smith, Beard Headline Big 12 Honors for Texas Tech Men's

Evans, Smith, Beard Headline Big 12 Honors for Texas Tech Men's Basketball

Keenan Evans Keenan Evans

IRVING, Texas – Keenan Evans secured All-Big 12 First-Team honors, Zhaire Smith collected three All-Big 12 accolades and Chris Beard shared the Big 12 Coach of the Year announced Sunday by the conference office and selected by the league coaches.

Evans is the first Texas Tech player since former All-American Jarrius Jackson to garner an All-Big 12 First-Team pick. He has worked his way to 17.4 points, 3.3 assists and 1.3 steals per game. The 17.4 points per game are third on the Big 12 leaderboard. Evans has piled up five of his 10 games of 20 or more points since Jan. 23. He also is a finalist for the Bob Cousy award, the John R. Wooden award and the Citizen Naismith trophy.  

Smith has had an impressive freshmen campaign en route to All-Big 12 Honorable Mention, All-Big 12 Newcomer Team and All-Big 12 Defensive Team. He is the first freshmen in program history to be named to a major All-Big 12 team. Smith posted 11.5 points, 4.7 rebounds, 1.7 assists, 1.1 blocks and 1.1 steals per game. He has tucked away double figures in nine straight games and 22 of his last 26 outings. 

Beard guided the Red Raiders to a 23-9 record, the program’s highest regular season win total since the 1995-96 season. Texas Tech secured the program’s highest Big 12 regular season finish and the No. 2 seed at this week’s Phillips 66 Big 12 Championships. The Red Raiders have been ranked a consensus Top 15 program for the last eight weeks highlighted by a No. 6 ranking in the Associated Press poll on Feb. 19 which was the highest ranking in program history.

2017-18 All-Big 12 Awards

Player of the Year: Devonte’ Graham, Kansas

Defensive Player of the Year: Jevon Carter, West Virginia

Freshman of the Year: Trae Young, Oklahoma

Newcomer of the Year: Malik Newman, Kansas

Sixth Man Award: Terry Maston, Baylor 

Co-Coach of the Year: Chris Beard, Texas Tech and Bill Self, Kansas

All-Big 12 First Team

Jevon Carter, West Virginia **

Keenan Evans, Texas Tech **

Devonte’ Graham, Kansas **

Trae Young, Oklahoma **

Dean Wade, Kansas State

All-Big 12 Second Team

Barry Brown, Jr., Kansas State

Mohamed Bamba, Texas

Manu Lecomte, Baylor

Svi Mykhailiuk, Kansas 

Kenrich Williams, TCU

All-Big 12 Third Team

Udoka Azubuike, Kansas

Vladimir Brodziansky, TCU

Jeffrey Carroll, Oklahoma State

Sagaba Konate, West Virginia

Jo Lual-Acuil, Jr., Baylor

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention – Listed alphabetically by school

Donovan Jackson (Iowa State), Cameron Lard (Iowa State), Lindell Wigginton (Iowa State), Lagerald Vick (Kansas), Matt Coleman (Texas), Dylan Osetkowski (Texas), Kerwin Roach II (Texas), Zhaire Smith (Texas Tech)

Big 12 All-Defensive Team

Mohamed Bamba, Texas **

Barry Brown, Jr., Kansas State

Jevon Carter, West Virginia **

Sagaba Konate, West Virginia

Zhaire Smith, Texas Tech 

Big 12 All-Newcomer Team

Mohamed Bamba, Texas

Malik Newman, Kansas

Zhaire Smith, Texas Tech

Lindell Wigginton, Iowa State

Trae Young, Oklahoma **

** - Unanimous selection


Texas Tech will await the winner of the Texas-Iowa State game in Thursday’s quarterfinal round at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Championships. Tipoff is set for 6 p.m. CT from the Sprint Center in Kansas City. The game will be televised by either ESPN or ESPN2 along with the ESPN app.

Visit www.TexasTech.com for the latest news and information on the men's basketball program. Fans also can follow the program on its social media outlets by liking TexasTechMBB on Facebook along with following @TexasTechMBB on Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat. 


Powered by Frankly