Tennis Programs Earn ITA All-Academic Team Honors

Tennis Programs Earn ITA All-Academic Team Honors

Lady Radier Tennis 2018 Lady Radier Tennis 2018

LUBBOCK, Texas – For the 10th time in 11 seasons, the Texas Tech Women’s Tennis program earned the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic Team award, the organization announced Tuesday morning. 

The Lady Raiders were one of 192 division I women’s teams to earn the ITA All-Academic Team honor. Texas Tech was one of six Big 12 schools to earn the honor including Baylor, Texas, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State and West Virginia.

Individually, five Lady Raiders were named ITA Scholar-Athletes. Junior Alex Valenstein earned her third straight award while seniors Sabrina Federici and Gabriela Talaba won their second honor of their careers. Additionally, Sarah Dvorak and Lana Rush were first-time recipients for the ITA Scholar-Athlete awards.

The Texas Tech Men's Tennis program also earned an ITA All-Academic Team selection for the fourth time in the last six seasons. The Red Raiders were one of three Big 12 teams to be named an All-Academic team along with Baylor and Oklahoma State.

Individually, Texas Tech's Pyry Hyrkkonen, Artem Kapshuk and Alex Sendegeya were named ITA Scholar-Athletes. It is the third award for Sendegeya and the first for Hyrkkonen and Kapshuk. 

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All eligible student-athletes whose names appear on the NCAA eligibility form and have competed in one or more varsity matches must average into the GPA for the current academic year.


Powered by Frankly