Scott Named to Haskins Watch List

Scott Named to Haskins Watch List

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech junior Sandy Scott has been named to the Haskins Award Watch List which was released on Monday and identifies the top candidates for the national player of the year honor.

There will be two more Haskins Award Watch Lists this spring with the next list being released in mid-April before it's narrowed to the top 15 players. The Final Watch List will be released right after the NCAA Regionals and the list will be narrowed again to the Final Top 10. The Hawkins Watch List also includes Viktor Hovland (Oklahoma State), Matthew Wolff (Oklahoma State), Collin Morikawa (Cal), Trent Phillips (Georgia), Justin Suh (USC), Alex Smalley (Duke), Will Gordon (Vanderbilt), Chun-An Yu (Arizona State), Cole Hammer (Texas), Bryson Nimmer (Clemson), Chandler Eaton (Duke), Austin Eckroat (Oklahoma State), Steven Fisk (Georgia Southern), Stephen Franken (NC State), Noah Goodwin (SMU), Will Grimmer (Ohio State), Peter Kuest (BYU), McClure Meissner (SMU), John Pak (Florida State), Peng Pichaikool (Mississippi State), Matthias Schmid (Louisville), Luke Schniederjans (Georgia Tech) and Brandon Wu (Stanford).

A junior from Scotland, Scott is currently ranked No. 27 in the Golfstat ranking with a 70.21 scoring average. He has earned two top-5 finishes this season at the Showdown in the Rockies and the Wyoming Desert Intercollegiate. He shot 5-under (74-69-68 – 211) at the Desert Collegiate two weeks ago for the fourth-place finish to help lead the Red Raiders to the tournament championship. He was at 2-under at the end of last week's tournament in Las Vegas and earned a top-15 showing.

Scott and the No. 11-ranked Red Raiders return to competition next week at the Lake Charles Invitational (March 18-19) in Lake Charles, Louisiana before playing tournaments in College Station and California before the Big 12 Championships on April 26-28 in White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia.  


Powered by Frankly