Texas Tech senior Jonathan Garibay was named one of 20 semifinalists for the 2021 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award presented by the Orange Bowl, announced Thursday by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission.

Garibay is 10-of-10 this season on field goal tries. Of the 20 semifinalists announced on Thursday, Garibay is one of six that owns a perfect field goal percentage. All six that have yet to miss this season, have attempted at least nine field goals.

The senior from Rubidoux, Calif. has been accurate from all distances this fall, putting 5-of-5 between the posts from 20-29 yards, 4-of-4 from 30-39 yards, and is 1-of-1 from more than 40 yards. On Oct. 23, he set a long for the season of 48 yards at Kansas, which matched a career-long set last season.

Garibay connected on the second game-winning field goal of his career at West Virginia on Oct. 2 as the senior found the uprights 32 yards out with only 18 seconds remaining. It was one of three field goals in the win for Garibay, who was also successful from 33 and 29 yards out. He was named the Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Week the following Monday for his efforts, alongside Colin Dicker of Texas.

Garibay is on pace to match or exceed the school record for consecutive field goals made (13), set in 2018 by Clayton Hatfield.

What's Next

Semifinalists will be voted on by a panel of more than 100 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, former Groza finalists, and current NFL kickers to select the three finalists. These finalists will be announced on November 23rd and honored at the 30th annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Virtual Awards Celebration, streamed live on December 8th on The same panel then selects the winner, who will be announced live on ESPN at the Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 9th.


The Award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.

About the Lou Groza Award

First handed out in 1992, 28 finalists, including 16 winners, have gone on to appear in the NFL, earning 11 trips to the Pro Bowl and taking home 6 Super Bowls. That list includes 2021 NFL kickers Rodrigo Blankenship, Randy Bullock, Daniel Carlson Mason Crosby, Jake Elliott, Ka'imi Fairbairn, Graham Gano, Matt Gay, Zane Gonzalez, Dustin Hopkins, Younghoe Koo and Cairo Santos.

For more information regarding the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, please visit, or follow @LouGrozaAward on Twitter for updates as they happen. Additional information can be obtained by contacting Jared Fleet, Director of Event Operations at the Palm Beach County Sports Commission at (561) 233-3120 or

National College Football Awards Association

The Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit and @NCFAA on Twitter to learn more about the association.