Vivian Gray

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech Lady Raider basketball senior Vivian Gray is one of 10 small forwards from around the country to be named a top-10 finalist for the Cheryl Miller Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced Wednesday.

Named after the three-time Naismith Player of the Year, the annual award in its fourth year recognizes the top small forwards in women's NCAA Division I college basketball. To be considered for this prestigious award, candidates must exhibit the intensity, grit and scoring savvy of Class of 1995 Hall of Famer Cheryl Miller.

It marks Gray's second-straight year making the award's midseason top-10 list, as she was named a top-10 finalist a season ago on the way to earning honorable mention All-America honors and First Team All-Big 12 recognition for the second-consecutive season at Oklahoma State as a junior.

The Argyle, Texas, product is having an outstanding senior season, averaging 18.9 points, a career-high 8.6 rebounds and 2.9 assists on the season, as well as career highs in field goal percentage (43.6 percent) and blocks (1.6). The senior is the only player in the Big 12 to lead her team in points, rebounds, assists, steals and blocks. Gray has posted eight 20-point scoring games this season, as well as six double-doubles. 

Gray is one of two Big 12 players to make the list, with Ashley Joens of Iowa State also making the cut.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Miller and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. The Selection Committee for the Cheryl Miller Award is composed of top women's college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.

The winner of the 2021 Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award will be presented April 9, 2021, along with the four other members of the Women's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men's Starting Five. College basketball fans can support their favorite players by participating in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies.