Kevin Obanor

Texas Tech will open the Maui Jim Maui Invitational against Creighton on Monday, November 21 at the Lahaina Civic Center.  


The Maui Jim Maui Invitational revealed the official 2022 Tournament bracket on Monday morning in preparation for the Tournament's return to the Lahaina Civic Center this Nov. 21 – 23. The first day’s matchup features Tech and Creighton beginning at 9:30 a.m. (1:30 p.m. CST), with Louisville taking on Arkansas in the top half of the bracket. In the bottom half of the bracket, Ohio State will face San Diego State, and Cincinnati will go head-to-head against Arizona. All 12 games of the Maui Jim Maui Invitational will be televised on ESPN, ESPN2 or ESPNU, and also available on the ESPN App. 


Tech and Creighton will be meeting for the fifth time ever with the last matchup coming at the 2019 Continental Tire Las Vegas Invitational in the Orleans Arena. The Blue Jays earned an 83-76 overtime win in that game to move to 3-1 all-time in the series.  


"Finalizing the Maui Jim Maui Invitational bracket signals to fans and teams everywhere that college basketball season is upon us, but this year feels even more exciting," said Tournament Chairman, David Odom. "While we’ve been able to keep the magic of Maui alive the last two years on the mainland, returning to our rightful home on the island has never felt so good - and we’re bringing an incredible field of teams to help us celebrate that homecoming!" 


The Maui Jim Maui Invitational has become synonymous with buzzer beater finishes and epic upsets, setting the tone for the trajectory of these top programs and the season as a whole. The teams that have participated throughout the event's history own 70 of the 82 NCAA Championships. Seven schools have gone on to win the National Championship after competing in Maui earlier that season. 


Six of this year’s eight programs made the 2021-22 NCAA tournament, with Texas Tech and Arizona advancing to the Sweet 16 and Arkansas making it to the Elite Eight. Arizona and Cincinnati are also two of the top 12 all-time winningest schools in NCAA history, while Louisville (39), Arkansas (34), Ohio State (31), and Creighton (23) are in the top 50 nationally for most NCAA Tournament appearances. Additionally, San Diego State is coming off back-to-back NCAA March Madness selections with plans to keep that momentum going.  


This year’s field also features six teams that will be making a return appearance in Maui while Creighton and Texas Tech will be making their first-ever appearance. Arizona is the only returning program to have earned a Maui Jim Maui Invitational Championship Title, having done so in 2000 and 2014.